Common Core Standards

“The Common Core State Standards provide a consistent, clear understanding of what students are expected to learn, so teachers and parents know what they need to do to help them. The standards are designed to be robust and relevant to the real world, reflecting the knowledge and skills that our young people need for success in college and careers. With American students fully prepared for the future, our communities will be best positioned to compete successfully in the global economy.”

 — Mission statement of the Common Core State Standards, a state-led effort coordinated by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO)

The Common Core Learning Standards are part of a national effort to provide a clearer understanding of what students are expected to learn so that teachers and parents can better prepare them for college or the workforce.

Common Core Learning Standards were an initiative led by the National Governors Association for Best Practices and the Council of Chief State School Officers. The standards have been adopted by most states across the country, including New York.

As a result, public school districts are changing what they teach and how they teach to align curriculum with the Common Core Learning Standards. In New York State, the standards apply to English Language Arts and Mathematics for pre-kindergarten through grade 12. The standards also will be the basis of the state assessments beginning with the new school year.


Download a parent brochure


Upcoming Events

Jun 03
Jun 04

CGEC Awards Ceremony

June 4 @ 5:30 pm
Jun 05

REC Awards Night & NTHS Induction

June 5 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Jun 05

Board of Education Meeting

June 5 @ 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Share This