Links

Behavior, Classroom Management and Motivation

Positive Behavior Intervention Supports:  http://www.pbis.org/
Behavior Tips and Tricks: www.specialed.about.com/cs/behaviordisorders
IRIS Center –Classroom Management Module  http://iris.peabody.vanderbilt.edu/beh1/chalcycle.htm
Behavior Quality Indicators http://www.p12.nysed.gov/specialed/techassist/QIcover.htm
NYS PBIS Technical Assistance Center http://nyspbis.org/

 

Literacy

Literacy Quality Indicators: www.p12.nysed.gov/specialed/techassist/QIcover.htm
National Reading Panel: www.nationalreadingpanel.org
Confusing Words: www.confusingwords.com What is the difference between effect & affect?
Read Naturally: www.readnaturally.com  Strategies to build fluency in reading
Florida Center for Reading Research:  www.fcrr.org/
The Reading Center – Dr. Joe Witt www.joewitt.org/Reading%20Grade%20levels.htm
The Consortium on Reading Excellence (CORE): www.corelearn.com/
Dolch Words: www.dolchwords.org/

 

Instruction

Explicit Instruction-Anita Archer Strategic Literacy Videos:  www.scoe.org/pub/htdocs/archer-videos.html
Explicit Instruction-Anita Archer Materials and Resources:  www.updc.org/archer/
Co-Teaching: www.k8accesscenter.org/training_resources/Co-TeachingModule.asp
Center on Instruction:  www.centeroninstruction.org/
IRIS Center (IDEA & Research for Inclusive Settings) Vanderbilt University iris.peabody.vanderbilt.edu/resources.html
Specially Designed Instruction Quality Indicators: www.p12.nysed.gov/specialed/techassist/QIcover.htm
Progress Monitoring Tools
Intervention Central – Jim Wright www.interventioncentral.org/
Intervention Ideas www.interventioncentral.org/index.php#ideas

 

Drop Out/Graduation

Dropout Prevention: www.dropoutprevention.org/
Center for Research on the Education of Students Placed at Risk: www.csos.jhu.edu/crespar/
National High School Center: www.betterhighschools.org/
Grad Nation: www.americaspromise.org/our-work/Grad-Nation.aspx
National Drop Out Prevention Center for Students with Disabilities www.ndpc-sd.org/
The Silent Epidemic; Perspectives of High School Drop Outs www.ignitelearning.com/pdf/TheSilentEpidemic3-06FINAL.pdf
High School Student Engagement Report ceep.indiana.edu/hssse/images/HSSSE_2010_Report.pdf
What Works Clearinghouse Drop Out Prevention Guide ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/pdf/practice_guides/dp_pg_090308.pdf
Check and Connect:  checkandconnect.org/
Why Try www.whytry.org/

 

State Assessment

Testing Access & Accommodations Policy and Tools to Guide Decision Making: www.p12.nysed.gov/specialed/publications/policy/testaccess/policyguide.htm

 

Disability Information

General Sites about Special Education:
Council of Exceptional Children  www.cec.sped.org
Academics K-12 www.k12academics.com/
LDonline  www.ldonline.com

Speech & Language/Hearing Impaired: 
American Speech & Hearing Association www.asha.org
Cornerstones: www.pbskids.org/lions/cornerstones
A. G. Bell Association for the Deaf www.agbell.org
Auditory Verbal International  www.auditory-verbal.org
Cochlear Corporation: www.cochlear.com
National Institute on Deafness and other Communication Disorders www.nidcd.nih.gov/health/hearing
Advanced Bionics: www.advancedbionics.com
Voice for Deaf Kids: www.voicefordeafkids.com

Autism:
Autism Society  www.autism-society.org
Center for Autism and Related Disorders (CARD) www.albany.edu/autism/
National Institute of Health Autism Research www.nichd.nih.gov/autism
Chapel Hill Autism Resources  stevecory.net/autism-info/autism-info.html
Autism Professional Development Modules www.autisminternetmodules.org/

For AD/HD:
Attention Deficit Disorder Association: www.add.org
Children and Adults with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder: www.chadd.org

For Learning Disabilities:
International Dyslexia Association  www.interdys.org
Council for Learning Disabilities www.cldinternational.org
National Center for Learning Disabilities www.ncld.org
LD Resources: www.ldresources.com
Teaching LD: www.teachingld.org
National Research Center on Learning Disabilities (NRCLD): www.nrcld.org/topics/rti.html

 

Collaborating with Parents

NYS Parent Website:  www.nysparents.com/nys/
Families Together in NYS:  www.ftnys.org/
National Parent Information network:  npin.org/
National Coalition for Parent Involvement in Education:  www.ncpie.org/
Families and Advocates Partnership for Education:  www.fape.org/
Parent Network of the Capital Region www.pncrny.org/

 

Other useful links

US Department of Education: www.ed.gov/
New York State Department of Education, Office of Special Education: www.p12.nysed.gov/specialed/
Regional Center of the RSE-Technical Assistance Support Center (RSE-TASC) Capital Region:  www.capitalregionboces.org/SpecEd/TASC.cfm
MyLearningPlan course listings of RSE-TASC regional training opportunities 
National Association of Special Education teachers:  www.naset.org/
ASCD: www.ascd.org/Default.aspx
LD Online:  www.ldonline.org/
Doing What Works (Research based education practices):  dww.ed.gov
New York State Special Education State Performance Plan www.p12.nysed.gov/specialed/spp/
Special Education School District Data Profile (special education report card): eservices.nysed.gov/sepubrep/
Link to New York State School Report Cards reportcards.nysed.gov/

Upcoming Events

Wed 27

Dignity for All Students Act (DASA) Training

September 27 @ 8:30 am - 3:00 pm
Thu 28

Rensselaer-Columbia-Greene Business Official Meeting

September 28 @ 9:00 am - 11:00 am
Fri 29

Teacher Lead Evaluator Re-certification Training

September 29 @ 8:30 am - 11:30 am
Oct 03

Instructional Rounds Training

October 3 @ 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Oct 04

Instructional Rounds Training

October 4 @ 9:00 am - 3:00 pm