At a ceremony November 3, Questar III honored eight teachers and nine scientists for their participation in the 2016 Summer Research Program for STEM Teachers.

District Superintendent Dr. Gladys Cruz, along with Program Director Jane King, Assemblymembers Steve McLaughlin and John McDonald III, and representatives for Assemblyman Peter Lopez and State Senator Kathleen Marchione presented plaques and certificates to the teachers and their mentors.

The Questar III program is based on a groundbreaking program at Columbia University created by Dr. Samuel Silverstein. Silverstein’s program has shown a strong increase in New York City students passing Regents exams in science.

In the program, teachers spend two consecutive summers working in Capital District labs four days a week and one day participating in science-specific professional development.

Questar III is now accepting applications for its next cohort of teachers. Visit our website for more information.

See photos from the event on our Facebook page.

2015-2016 Cohort (Year 2)
Justin Haviland, Troy CSD
Sean Higgins, Cairo-Durham CSD
Tom Guile, Coxsackie-Athens CSD
Benjamin Long, New Lebanon CSD
Kara Sokolowski, New Lebanon CSD
Ashley Woitkoski, Lansingburgh CSD

2016-2017 Cohort (Year 1)
Kim Hayden, Hoosick Falls CSD
Darlene Hunter, Averill Park CSD

Scientist Partners:
Dr. Erasmus Schneider, The Wadsworth Center
Dr. Ellen Braun-Howland, The Wadsworth Center
Dr. Joan Curcio, The Wadsworth Center
Dr. Yuri Gorby, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Dr. Kurunthachalam Kannan, The Wadsworth Center
Dr. Mary Krenceski, Momentive Performance Materials
Dr. Janice Pata, The Wadsworth Center
Dr. Morgan Schaller, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Dr. Bruce Watson, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute


Share This